The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The rest of us just live here by Patrick Ness is a mesmerizing read. It will truly and utterly blow your mind and leave you wondering what the hell did I just read? But not in a bad way. This novel is silly, baseless and has whatsoever no kind of plot but still gets you addicted and leaves you in that strange book hangover phase.

I love reading dystopian novels and sci-fi and this was different take on those. It showed what happens to the general public when those who are the “Chosen Ones” are off to save the world. It shows how zombies, ghosts and aliens taking over the world effect the people who can’t actually figure out what is going on but sense that something is wrong. It shows how the great battle between that one hero/heroine and the evil side effects those who are clueless.

I can’t still decide the plotline this book has been written on is. There is a sci-fi story going on side by side. Each chapter develops the story in the first five to six lines and the whole story does not even make up a quarter of the book. It has some pretty mind blowing themes and some lines got to me in a way I could relate.

The book starts with a discussion between friends on the topic of what actually love is. We are introduced to four friends: the author; Mel, the author’s sister; Hanna, the girl the author has a crush on; and Jared, the best friend who is gay. And the casual yet deep way Jared describes what love feels like had me falling in love with him in the first few pages,

“…for that moment everything you believed is wrong. Or doesn’t matter. And everything that is complicated is suddenly, like, yes-and-no simple, because your stomach is really the boss and it’s telling you that your desire is possible and that it’s not the answer to everything but it’s the one thing that’s going to make the questions more bearable.”

Some things in this novel really make you relate. The way Mike talks about adults growing up and forgetting that zombies and ghosts exist, isn’t that what most teenagers think? That our parents just don’t get what we go through and aren’t we sometimes forced to wonder if they even remember their high schools? And no matter what we say adults just don’t believe in fantasies and imaginations. As we grow old we are so stuck on our beliefs that we refuse to see what is right there in front us.

The group also tells about the fears that one faces when graduating high school. That sense of doom and uncertainty, where no one actually knows what’s going to happen in the future. This is something we all face and since it’s just a year left for me I could very much relate. Leaving your family behind, no matter how bad they are, it is still losing the security you had. Leaving people you care behind, people who know you is not easy. But the anticipation of what is to come and a brighter future does drive us forward.

Since the start of the novel I was rooting for Mike to realize he is in love with Jared because yeah I admit it I am a sucker for gay love stories. When mike goes to Jared to shout about the article Jared’s father published, I was actually chanting kiss him kiss him kiss him in my head. Ah well, Nathan was good too. Although I did not see the Nathan being gay thing coming. That was quiet a shocker and I was pretty convinced that Nathan was one of the evil kids. My favorite couple was Mel and Steve. I don’t know why but I loved them together. Hanna and Mike, on the other hand, seemed like best friend stuff from the start so I wasn’t very surprised when they broke off their relationship.

I actually loved this novel so freaking much and I have a feeling I am going to read it again and again and again. I would actually love to see this made into a movie.

Leave a Reply

