It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Dear Colleen Hoover,

I just finished your novel. The one you just released. It Ends With Us. It was hauntingly perfect. I did not cry throughout the novel you know. Your novels always make me cry, except for November 9, that wasn’t so good. But as soon as Lily asks her for a divorce, I burst into tears. I cried like a baby. I couldn’t stop shaking. Breathing became difficult but I couldn’t stop. This hit me so hard.

I grew up in a family where domestic violence is considered normal. My dad never raised a hand on my mom but when others did he never stopped them. My cousin got married three years ago and her husband started hitting her. The first time it happened, I was shaken. To my very core. I cried for her and begged her to get a divorce. But her mother and my mother and our uncle and my father sent her back to ‘mend things.’ It was obviously her fault that he had hit her. The next time was more violent. He threw her against the wall. He picked her up and threw her against the dressing table. He choked her with her scarf. She ran away. He didn’t stop. She had to run away and he was trying to keep her inside. That time she stayed with us for a week but then her husband came back and no one discussed anything and he took her away. Now it’s been a year since I have seen her. She comes only on big events accompanied by her husband and their daughter. He loves his daughter.

I know you are not really interested in this but you see this is why I cried when she decided to get a divorce. I have seen what happens. I have seen domestic violence. I know it. When I started the novel, I don’t know why but I didn’t really like Ryle. When I finished the novel, I still don’t know how I feel about him. This is a haunting novel. I read it yesterday and it took me a whole day to be able to put that experience down in words. I say ‘experience’ because reading this novel was nothing less. It changed me. I dreamt about it. I had nightmares about it. It was too good.

Although I would like to point out one thing. The beginning wasn’t that strong. I was going to put down the novel but I am glad I didn’t. Lily and Ryle’s meeting seemed something out of an amateur novel. The begging, the marriage and the first night they slept together without having sex weren’t that good as the whole novel. It was when Atlas came into the picture that the novel turned awesome. I would never have guessed at the start that this was the way it would go.

I write this review as a letter because it seemed fit to pen this down like Lily wrote to Ellen and yes I too know that you probably will never read this.

–Zoya

Leave a Reply

